FavoritePinShare

Sweet and simple pineapple upside down-cupcakes made entirely from scratch (don’t worry, they’re easy!). With fluffy vanilla cupcake bases topped off with caramelized pineapple and maraschino cherries, these are a great new way to enjoy a classic recipe!

Hello again! Sam here from Sugar Spun Run, back with another sweet-tooth appeasing recipe for you today! I’m something of a pineapple fiend. I love it on my pizza (any other pineapple pizza lovers out there?! I know it seems to be a love-it or hate-it kind of thing!), I’m a sucker for a great Pina Colada, and the ever-popular Pineapple Upside-Down Cake is one of my all-time favorite cake recipes. In fact, I love it so much that, in an effort to justify my constant need to have this cake on hand, I decided to make a miniature version (or rather, a dozen miniature versions!) and these pineapple upside-down cupcakes were born.

I actually recently shared a full-sized pineapple upside-down cake recipe on my own site (because I’m obsessed, remember?), and decided that a miniature version was urgently necessary. A few tweaks were in order, though. While the cupcakes are a very basic and simple vanilla cake recipe, I used buttermilk in this recipe to help keep them extra soft and keep them from drying out in their cupcake wells (and if you don’t happen to keep buttermilk handy – I know I rarely do – I have a super simple buttermilk substitute you can use that works just as well).

My biggest frustration with this recipe was that a 20 oz can of pineapple chunks is just too small to cover 12 cupcakes, so you’ll have to buy an additional small can of pineapples for that twelfth cupcake, leaving you with a few extra unused pineapple chunks. Alternatively you can still use the butter, brown sugar, and cherries but leave the pineapple off to avoid breaking open another can, which is what I usually do (as much as I love pineapple, I’m not going to turn down a brown sugar and cherry topped cupcake, either). Other than that, these pineapple upside-down cupcakes are frustration-free! The vanilla cupcake base is simple, soft, and so fresh (better than any box-mix, trust me!). You can have them in your oven and baking in less than 25 minutes. So…. what are you waiting for!? Enjoy!

  All nutritional information is based on third party calculations and is only an estimate. Each recipe and nutritional value will vary depending on the brands you use, measuring methods and portion sizes per household. You Might Also Like These Recipes! Easy Vanilla Cupcakes

Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes

Carrot Cake Cupcakes

Read More Posts by Samantha Visit Samantha’s Website facebook twitter pinterest instagram Thanks for a great recipe! Comment * Name * Email * Website

Δ

Insanely Delicious Prime Rib Recipe

Quick 45 Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Slow Cooker Chicken and Mushroom Stroganoff

Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes - 37Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes - 75Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes - 62Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes - 65Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes - 25Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes - 7Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes - 82Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes - 20Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes - 61Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes - 50Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes - 42